Praising When You Don’t Feel Good?! – KDG

So Philippians 4:4 says

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!

Do you have that song stuck in your head now too?

You know it’s really easy to Praise the Lord when things are going GREAT! You got a raise in your allowance. People are being nice to you. God’s blessing you left and right. OOO look a batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies just for you. ::gospel choir begins to sing:: Well!! Can I get an AMEN!!! mmmhmmm it’s really easy to Praise God when things are go’n great. When everything is simply fluffy (fluffy or fluffy bunnies is what i say when describing something good and happy… yes i’m odd… don’t judge me haha) 🙂

But what about when things are rough? does that “always” mean… always?!

Flip over Psalm 13. Here we find King David writing out song

1 How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
2How long must I take counsel in my soul
and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

3 Consider and answer me, O LORD my God;
light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
4lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

Hmmm, sounds to me like David is  having a pretty rough day. It would appear that he feels alone, abandoned, in pain.

Have you ever felt that way. Like you are alone? Like there is absolutely no one there for you? it’s a pretty harsh feeling. You kind of feel like crawling back into bed, pull’n up a thing of chocolate just disappear for a while.

… hmmm i wonder how the rest of this Psalm ends….

But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
6I will sing to the LORD,
because he has dealt bountifully with me.

Sereiously!!?? this dude is having a horrid day! and yet! he’s still saying “I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation”  How!? Why?!

hmm… Lets flash forward to the book of Acts. In Acts 16-26 we run into the Apostle Paul and Silas. Just going along and doing their thing… Preaching the Gospel, healing the sick, you know… Christian stuff. All of a sudden some crazy demon possessed girl who works as a fortune teller starts following them screaming out “”These men are servants of the Most High God, who proclaim to you the way of salvation.” and that got really really really annoying because she did it for several days in a row. Finally Paul had enough, turned around, and cast the spirit out of the girl.

Well that didn’t make the girl’s employer’s very happy. Outraged they had Paul and Silas arrested, beaten up, and thrown in jail! Talk about a really BAD day. I don’t know about the rest of you guys but that night. i would have been so worn out and bummed from what happened, i would have just crashed for the entire night.  But what did Paul and Silas do?

25About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the prisoners were listening to them,

They prayed and worshiped God. They rejoiced in Him and His goodness. Then something AMAZING happened.

26and suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken. And immediately all the doors were opened, and everyone’s bonds were unfastened.

Why should we praise and rejoice in the Lord even when we feel like there’s no one there for us? Because God is always there. You are his child and He loves you greatly. He will provide for you when times are good and when times are bad. He loves you. Next time you find yourself in a place where life doesn’t make sense and you feel alone, instead of sinking back into some hole. Rejoice in the Lord. Rejoice because the God of eternity, will provide for you.

Leave a Reply

