“I am”

So i don’t normally post my notes from my Sunday night notes but i felt that i should post up this one…

I started off by handing all the kids a card. I told them to describe themselves. I told them to describe themselves physically and also describe their personalities. They had a really really rough time with this.

We then discussed why it was hard to describe their personalities. It’s said that people have a hard time of really looking at themselves because they afraid that when they really take a look at who they are, they won’t like what they see.

I then told them to flip the card over and write at the top of it

I am

You should do this too… yes you who are reading this right now… i’ll wait…

got a card? good.

Like i said people have a hard time describing themselves because they are afraid of what they will see. But let me take you on a journey to discover who you really are.

Write down on your card Genesis 1:26. Look at this first part of the verse.

Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, in our likeness

It says that God made us in His image.  Now, would you call God ugly? Dumb? So if you are made in the image of God why would you call yourself that?! So next to that verse  i want you to write

I am made in the very image of God.

Now flip over to Ephesians 2:10 and write it down on the card. It reads

For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

According to this verse we are the very workmanship of God. Some would say the masterpiece of God. And it also says that we were created to do good works.

So next to the the verse Ephesians 2:10 write this

I am a masterpiece of God and was created to do good works.

Now flip over to John 14:12-15. Write it down on your card 🙂 now it reads

12I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. 14You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.

Now next to the verse on your card write this

I am able to do many great things that Christ did and greater through Christ to bring glory to God.

hand getting tired? well hang on one last verse. Write down Acts 2:17

‘In the last days, God says,
I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
your young men will see visions,
your old men will dream dreams.

According to this verse God will pour out gifts on us and we will have dreams and visions. so next to the verse write out

I am chosen to have dreams and visions.

Now take the card. get up from your seat. walk to the nearest mirror. when you get there look at yourself and read that card. Go ahead do it. i’ll wait here for you.

Welcome back…

We as a whole, from babies to 80’s are  bombarded with images and concepts of what we are suppose to look like. We are told to look a certain way, to act a certain way, to be this, to be that. 9 times out of 10… those things aren’t what God has dictated to be true. I had you and the kids get up and read that card in your mirror to help get into your spirit the truth. So that next time you look at yourself… you won’t be afraid of what you find. you’ll find the truth that God has laid out in his holy word.

Leave a Reply

