Power of Authority

This weeks’ message is all about the power of Christ and the power he had because of the authority given to him.

Logic dictates that people would love Jesus. He was the savior! the one scriptures had told about! you’d think that the people of Israel would be so excited that he was there! But sadly many of Israel’s leaders did not believe in Jesus. They tried to say that he was doing these miracles through demonic powers. However, scripture says otherwise.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy;
John 10:10

Generally thief refers to Satan or to demonic powers. Scripture clearly states that demonic powers are used specifically to steal, kill, and destroy.  Jesus wouldn’t be able to help people using demonic powers. That’s not how it works.

The religious leaders of the day also accused Jesus of doing things under his own power.  His own authority. However, Jesus clearly stated

By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but Him who sent me.
John 5:30

Jesus did things only to please God and under his authority. He received his power from God. Not only that but God approved of what Jesus was doing.

God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power, and how he went around doing good and healing all who were under the power of the devil, because God was with him.
Acts 10:38

You see Jesus never did anything without first hearing from his father and he always obeyed his father. He never put his own will before God’s will because he knew that God’s will is always the best thing for us and it is where we are the happiest.

To help illustrate the concept of power through the name of a higher authority i used the story of the Roman centurion found in Matthew 8:5-13 The centurion’s servant was very sick and near death. The centurion though he was not Jewish, worshiped The God of Israel and believed in Jesus.  He heard that Jesus could heal the sick so he came running to him to ask him to heal his servant.

Jesus was willing to go to the centurion’s house but he told Jesus it wasn’t necessary.   He told that Jesus that if simply just speak the word his servant would be healed. He said to Jesus afterwards

For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”
Matthew 8:9

The centurion new that Rome was bigger than him and that if Rome had given him an order to pass onto his troops that  he had the authority to do it.  If his troops questioned his orders he knew that Rome would back him and take care of the problem.

To help illustrate this i got one of my adult leaders come to the front and told the kids to pretend she was a teacher. The i called another one up and told the kids that he and i were students. I told them to pretend that the teacher wanted me to put my pencil away so she sent another student to go tell me to put it up. That student comes to me and says “Hey Ms. Leah said to put your pencil up.”  that student comes to me with the authority of the teacher. if i question it the teacher herself will get onto me.

The Roman centurion understood that when Jesus does things it’s because God himself has given him the power. So when Jesus says that a person is healed or that blessings shall come to this person… those things WILL happen. Why? Because God said so.

So how does this apply to our kids?

When we go to Jesus in prayer we need to have faith in His word. The Bible is littered with promises to us. Not only that we have to have faith that when we pray to Him that he will come through for us.

Leave a Reply

