Practice What You Preach

This past Sunday I was given the opportunity to preach in our monthly Renewal Service. For those of you who do not know what that is, once a month instead of having cell groups (small groups) the church comes together for a corporate service. Everyone from kids to adults. Generally Pastor Scott shares but since he is on vacation this week he asked me to do it.

So last night I taught about radically fulfilling your purpose as a Christian. If your interested in hearing it you can download it from our podcast (www.thpshreveport.com) in a few days. One of my points was that we have to get in to the word, because what we put in is what comes out. In one of my sub-points I pointed out that while I was telling people that they need to get rid of their TVs or Xboxes they do need to be careful about what they put into themselves.

Well last night I came home and to kind of relax a bit before I crashed I started to play this video game. Now understand I am a bit of a gamer. I’m not one of those obsessed got to play every moment of the day types but I do enjoy games. I had just gotten my hands on this particular game for my PC so I thought “why not play a level or 2?”

As I was playing it I had reached a level where things were just getting weird and very intense. I found myself beginning to get way to wrapped into it and finally had to just shut it off. Last night I had the strangest dream ever. It was very restless night for me.

When I woke up I thought about what I said last night about being careful with what you put into your heart and mind. Now again, I’m not saying that you need to throw out all your video games or go into your child’s PC/Mac and delete every game on their. But as I reflected on last night I realized that particular game for ME was not something in needed. So I got up, walked over to my computer and I completely removed it from my hard drive.

As ministers, if we are not willing to practice what we preach, if parents are not willing to practice what they preach, then what’s the point? We must lead by example. So there you go folks. I’ve made a step. How about you?

Leave a Reply

