What is “Eternal Disciples”

I’d like to invite everyone to checkout a new blog called Eternal Disciples. The link to it is on the right side of this page! But before you go to it i’d like to give you some info about it. haha ironically to give you info about it have to first give you some background. About a year into children’s ministry I realized two things.

1. I have a group of 5th and 6th graders who have great potential in ministry but no outlet.

2. I need more help in The Deep (our children’s ministry)

Seeing these two things I developed a program called Timothy Crew. This is a group of 5th and 6th graders whom are willing to serve in TheDeep.  They help with everything from worship, running media, alter times, to setting up and tearing down before and after services.  In the summer our 6th graders have an opportunity to serve as leaders in our kids camp, Hero Academy, as a special group known as “The Crew.”

Timothy Crew in of itself has been a great adventure.  It’s great seeing these kids growing in the Lord in so many different ways.  One of the kids who came through the Timothy Crew program has taken a special interest in growing more in the Lord. I like to call him BMac!

One day I was hanging out with him and I asked him one simple question,

“B, how’s your walk with the Lord going?”

He then proceeded to tell me that he was somewhat unsatisfied with his walk. He knew that big part of his growth centered around Bible reading but he just wasn’t doing it. We continued to talk for a while and I asked him questions,

“Do you want me to help you with your Bible reading? How do you want me to help you.”

We came to an arrangement that we’d meet once a week and discuss a chapter from scripture. We started with the book of Hebrews. Throughout the week we’d read a chapter on our own and then when we came together we’d discuss what we read. It was a slow start but soon B Mac started to get the hang of it.

Around chapter 6 I gave him and assignment. Each week before we met he needed to tweet something about the passage he read. Pretty soon he was putting out tweets like these

The idea was to get him to be able to look at a passage and be able to explain it in simple terms in context.

When we finished Hebrews we decided that we would start with the book of John. However, this time we are doing something different.  This time we would each do a blog post. First half of the post would sum up the passage. The second half of the post would be a practical application. The purpose of this experiment is to help him learn to read the scripture, comprehend the one truth, and see a practical application to his and other’s lives.

Every two weeks we will each post on this site. Next week you will see the first of two posts from us on John chapter 1!

One thought on “What is “Eternal Disciples”

  1. Dallas….what a brilliant idea to blog together! And I am so impressed that you started with Hebrews!!!! That’s quite a heavy book for a 6th grader!
    God Bless your ministry with all your young people…and I love that name…The Deep. It reminds me of a blog post I wrote about the day I learned to swim. If you’re interested, you’ll find it under the ‘challenge’ label in my blog. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

